profile picture

English French Spanish

Cumberland County, New Jersey

Cumberland County is a county located in the U.S. state of New Jersey. As of the 2000 Census, the population is 146,438. Its county seat is Bridgeton. It is part of the Vineland-Millville- Bridgeton Primary Metropolitan Statistical Area which encompasses the New Jersey cities of Vineland, Millville and Bridgeton and all of Cumberland County for statistical purposes. Cumberland County is named for Prince William, Duke of Cumberland.

This county is part of the Delaware Valley area.


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,752 km² (677 sq mi). 1,267 km² (489 sq mi) of it is land and 485 km² (187 sq mi) of it (27.68%) is water.

Cumberland is a low-lying, generally featureless coastal county, with many salt marshes near the Delaware Bay. The highest elevation is at one of 12 areas in Upper Deerfield Township that exceed 140 feet (42.6 m) above sea level; the lowest elevation is sea level.

The municipality type is listed in parentheses after the name, except where the type is included as part of the name. Census-designated places and other unincorporated communities are listed under their municipalities.

Bridgeton (city)
Commercial Township
Laurel Lake
Port Norris
Deerfield Township
Downe Township
Fairfield Township
Greenwich Township
Hopewell Township
Lawrence Township
Maurice River Township
Millville (city)
Shiloh (borough)
Stow Creek Township
Upper Deerfield Township
Seabrook Farms
Vineland (city)