profile picture

English French Spanish

Burlington County, New Jersey

Burlington County is a county located in the U.S. state of New Jersey. The county seat is Mount Holly. The county seat had been in Burlington, but as population moved away from the Delaware River a more central location was needed. As of 2000, the population was 423,394.

Burlington County dates back to 1681, when its court was established in West Jersey. The county was formed on May 17, 1694, "by the union of the first and second Tenths".

This county is part of the Delaware Valley area.


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,122 km² (819 sq mi). 2,084 km² (805 sq mi) of it is land and 38 km² (15 sq mi) of it (1.81%) is water.

Most of the land in the county is coastal and alluvial plain with little relief. There are a few anomalous hills, however, and one of them, Arneys Mount, is the highest of not only the entire county but all of South Jersey at approximately 260 feet (79 m) above sea level. The low point is sea level along the Delaware.

Burlington County has the largest area of New Jersey's 21 counties.

The following municipalities are located in Burlington County. Unincorporated areas are listed within the municipalities in which they are situated. The type of government is listed in parentheses where it is not included in municipality name:

Bass River Township
Beverly (city)
Bordentown Township
Bordentown (city)
Burlington Township
Burlington (city)
Chesterfield Township
Cinnaminson Township
Delanco Township
Delran Township
Eastampton Township
Edgewater Park Township
Evesham Township
Marlton CDP
Fieldsboro (borough)
Florence Township
Hainesport Township
Lumberton Township
Mansfield Township
Maple Shade Township
Medford Lakes (borough)
Medford Township
Moorestown Township
Mount Holly Township
Mount Laurel Township
New Hanover Township
Fort Dix (part)
McGuire Air Force Base (part)
North Hanover Township
McGuire Air Force Base (part)
Palmyra (borough)
Pemberton Township
Browns Mills
Country Lake Estates
Fort Dix (part)
Pemberton Heights
Presidential Lakes Estates
Pemberton (borough)
Riverside Township
Riverton (borough)
Shamong Township
Southampton Township
Springfield Township
Fort Dix (part)
Tabernacle Township
Washington Township
Westampton Township
Willingboro Township
Woodland Township
Wrightstown (borough)